CDL and DUI: Georgia Law and Penalties

Posted by Richard Lawson | Jun 12, 2018 | 0 Comments

Drivers with a commercial driver's license (CDL) rely on that designation to make their living. These drivers have successfully passed tests that demonstrate their ability to drive commercial vehicles safely on Georgia roads. A CDL is valuable to the person who has earned the privilege and it should be protected accordingly.

If you have a CDL, you are subject to both federal and state regulations which you must strictly follow. If you hold a CDL and have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol, your license, and therefore your living, could be in danger of forfeiture. Understanding the special rules you must follow and dealing with the consequences of a DUI charge are incredibly important.

An experienced Dekalb County DUI attorney can defend your rights and your way of life.

Special Requirements for CDL Drivers

For regular drivers in Georgia, the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) level is 0.08% or higher. However, drivers with a CDL are subject to a much stricter standard. If you are pulled over for suspected DUI while driving a commercial vehicle, you are subject to a BAC limit of 0.04% or higher.

For many drivers, this low threshold means that even one alcoholic beverage may cause you to go above the legal limit. The relation of the number of alcoholic beverages to BAC depends on various factors, such as

  • Driver's weight
  • Driver's height
  • Gender
  • Overall tolerance to alcohol
  • How quickly the alcoholic beverages are consumed
  • Altitude
  • Food and other drinks consumed.

You may not feel intoxicated, and you may yet exceed the legal limit. Knowing that your license is at stake, you must aggressively defend your CDL with the help of an experienced Dekalb DUI attorney.

Penalties for DUI with a CDL

Significant penalties can be imposed for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol while driving a commercial vehicle. If you possess a CDL, any DUI in either a commercial vehicle or even your personal vehicle will result in the loss of your privileges for one year. Subsequent convictions can result in the permanent revocation of your CDL.

The same is true for refusing to take Georgia's informed consent chemical tests. Upon your first refusal, you are ineligible to regain your CDL for at least one year. Subsequent refusals may result in a lifetime ban of your ability to drive a commercial vehicle. In order to avoid the administrative taking of your CDL, your DUI attorney can file a 30-day letter to protect your driving privileges.

Contact a Dekalb DUI Attorney

If you hold a commercial driver's license in the State of Georgia and have been arrested for DUI, it is crucial that you quickly address the charges against you. You rely on that CDL to make your living, support yourself, and support your family. Just because you are arrested for DUI, do not assume that you are guilty. 

highly experienced Dekalb DUI attorney knows the law and how to defend your case. To protect yourself, and your livelihood, you must act now. Contact us today for a free consultation.

About the Author

Richard Lawson

Richard S. Lawson is passionate about intoxicated driving defense. Unlike some attorneys, Mr. Lawson devotes 100% of his legal practice to helping people stand up for their rights against DUI charges. For more than 20 years, Mr. Lawson has dutifully fought for his clients' freedom, resolving more 4,900 impaired driving cases during the course of his career. Today, Mr. Lawson has developed a reputation as a skilled negotiator and continues to help clients by fighting to keep them out of jail.


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment