A woman in Forsyth County, Georgia led law enforcement on a crazy chase in the early morning hours of Tuesday, January 8, 2018. Christina Lee Waggoner, age 44, from Loganville, Georgia, was driving on Georgia 400 northbound when law enforcement attempted to initiate a traffic stop, leading to the chase.
After initially stopping for police, as law enforcement approached her car Waggoner drove off, traveling at a high rate of speed. Officers attempted to box her in, but she managed to squeeze between them, prolonging the chase. The chase continued for a quite a distance where Waggoner nearly lost control multiple times.
Eventually, law enforcement was able to bring Waggoner to a stop by pushing the back of her car with the deputy vehicle. She spun out and came to a stop after blowing a tire. Waggoner was arrested at the scene on suspected DUI, as well as for running from the police.
She has been charged with
- driving under the influence (DUI),
- failure to maintain lane,
- reckless driving,
- no brake lights,
- improper lane, and
- fleeing/attempting to elude.
When a person is arrested on a charge of suspected DUI, a proper defense can protect that person's constitutional rights, as well as his or her ability to drive. An experienced DeKalb County DUI attorney can defend your case.
Reckless Driving in Georgia
Reckless driving is a serious charge in Georgia but is often a charge that a prosecutor is willing to amend a DUI charge down to during plea negotiations. This can be to your benefit, but it does not come about all on its own. Reduced charges are most likely to occur with experienced legal representation.
So what is reckless driving? Reckless driving occurs when a person drives at high speeds, weaves, or drives in a manner that is likely to lead to an accident.
Penalties for Reckless Driving
Reckless driving is codified in O.C.G.A. 40-6-390 and is a misdemeanor offense under Georgia law. If convicted under this offense, the defendant is subject to the following penalties.
- Time in jail or prison not to exceed 12 months (1 year).
- Maximum possible fine of up to $1,000.
- Four points on your Georgia driver's license (unless under 21, then it's a loss of license).
Why is this better than a DUI charge?
A reckless driving conviction is considered a "win" if you are originally charged with DUI. Although reckless driving does come with criminal penalties, they are not as severe as the possible penalties associated with a Georgia DUI.
This is especially true of the potential loss of your driver's license. If convicted of a DUI charge, there is a good likelihood that you may lose your right to vote for a certain period of time. With a reckless driving charge, you are not likely to lose your right to drive unless you already have a significant number of points on your license.
Consult a DeKalb County DUI Attorney
If you or someone you care about has been arrested for DUI in Georgia, an experienced DeKalb County DUI attorney can defend your case to protect your constitutional rights. Contact us today for a free consultation.